SR-22 forms are proof of insurance forms that are typically required after major traffic violations, such as DUIs or reckless driving charges. Auto insurance companies file these forms with the state to prove that a driver carries at least the types and minimum auto insurance coverage limits required by the state. However, Pennsylvania is one of the few states that does not use SR-22 forms. You won’t need to purchase SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania, but understanding how proof of insurance forms work and what alternatives exist could still be helpful.
What is “SR-22 insurance?” “
SR-22 insurance is an incorrect term. An SR-22 does not provide any insurance coverage; it only proves to the State that a driver is properly insured. However, Pennsylvania does not require drivers to complete SR-22 forms.
That doesn’t mean, however, that you can circumvent state auto insurance laws. To legally drive in Pennsylvania, all motorists must have at least the following types and limits of coverage:
- Civil liability of $ 15,000 per person
- Civil liability of $ 30,000 per accident
- $ 5,000 civil liability for accidental property damage
- $ 5,000 Injury Protection (PIP)
In Pennsylvania, PIP may also be referred to as “first party benefits” or “PBF”.
Typically, auto insurance companies will file these forms directly with the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, since the SR-22s are not used in this state, auto insurance companies in Pennsylvania are unlikely to have the ability to complete these forms. However, you will likely still see insurance implications in the event of a driving incident. If you’ve been convicted of a major offense, you will likely need to increase your auto insurance premium even further. If you need to find cheaper auto insurance in Pennsylvania, or if your insurer cancels your policy after a major violation, you may need to shop around and change coverage.
Alternatives to the Pennsylvania SR-22
Auto insurance rates vary from state to state, as do insurance verification requirements. Many states are using SR-22s, but a few, including Pennsylvania, are withdrawing. However, understanding the basic structure of these SR-22 alternatives could help you prepare if you need to fill out any of the forms in the future.
|Form||States issued||Insurance minimums required|
|SR-22||Most states (except Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania)||Minimum condition|
|SR-19||California, texas||Coverage for uninsured motorists|
|SR-21||Florida, Hawaii||Minimum condition|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas, Missouri||Minimum state or higher, prepaid|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Greater than state minimum (up to double)|
- SR-19: SR-19s are used in California and Texas after crashes with uninsured motorists.
- SR-21: The SR-21s prove that a driver was properly insured at the time of an accident or a ticket.
- SR-22A: These forms are similar to the SR-22 forms, but require drivers to pay in advance for at least six months of auto insurance coverage.
- FR-44: A few states use FR-44s for repeat offenders or particularly at-risk drivers. This form requires that drivers carry limits of liability in excess of the state minimum.
- FR-19: Maryland is the only state that uses the FR-19 form. The form provides proof of insurance for 30 days.
- SR-50: The SR-50 is an Indiana form that proves insurance coverage on an earlier date.
A non-owner’s policy is an auto insurance policy for drivers who do not own a car. If you have an SR-22 requirement but don’t own a vehicle, a non-owner policy may allow you to keep your license by providing the SR-22 deposit. Keep in mind, however, that even for drivers who don’t own vehicles, Pennsylvania doesn’t require an SR-22.
SR-22 Pennsylvania Insurance Fee
There are no costs associated with SR-22s in Pennsylvania because the state does not use these forms. However, in states that use the SR-22s, the only cost for the form itself is a filing fee, which is typically less than $ 50. However, you may also have fines associated with your violation and reinstatement of your license.
Most of the cost of an SR-22 actually comes from the traffic violation that required the filing. DUIs, major infractions and repeat infractions often result in large increases in average auto insurance costs. However, you may be able to find a cheap auto insurance company even if you have traffic violations. Keep in mind that even some of the best auto insurance companies won’t insure high-risk drivers, so you may need to give yourself some time to find the right company for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Long Do I Need an SR-22 in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania drivers do not need SR-22 returns because the state does not use the form. However, drivers in most states will need to wear the form for at least three years, on average. During this period, you must maintain active and continuous insurance. If your policy is canceled or expires, your insurer will notify the state and your license will likely be suspended.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania does not require an SR-22 filing, so you won’t be able to get a form in the state. If you’ve been advised that you need an SR-22 filing in another state, you will need to work with your auto insurance company and that state’s DMV to provide the form.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost in Pennsylvania?
There is no charge for an SR-22 in Pennsylvania since the state does not use the form. However, in general, the cost of an SR-22 revolves mainly around the traffic violation that imposed it; the fee for the form itself is usually less than $ 50.
What happens if my insurer cancels my policy while I have an SR-22?
If you have an SR-22 deposit in another state, you will need to keep it for the required length of time, which means keeping current insurance. Insurance companies must give notice before terminating a driver’s policy. If you have been notified that your policy is going to be canceled, you will need to find a new carrier before the cancellation date to provide the SR-22 form to the state. If you don’t and if you let the SR-22 expire, your license will be suspended.