Hit and run accidents are more and more frequent. In 2015, there were approximately 737,100 hit-and-run accidents in the United States. This is equivalent to a hit and run collision that occurs every 43 seconds, according to the AAA Foundation.
The potential for hit-and-run accidents is one reason auto insurance is a legal requirement in almost all states. Some types of auto insurance coverage can cover the cost of a hit and run accident, whether you are injured or your vehicle is damaged.
hit and run in Alaska
A hit and run in Alaska is defined as an accident where a driver fails to stop after the collision. In Alaska, it is illegal to leave the scene of an accident without providing personal or insurance information, or to fail to assist injured drivers and passengers.
Fortunately, hit and run accidents in Alaska are quite rare. There are only about 533,000 licensed drivers in Alaska, and because much of the state is rural, the overall hit-and-run rate is relatively low. Between 2006 and 2016, there were only 29 fatal hit-and-run crashes in Alaska, which is far lower than in many other states.
Alaska hit and run laws
Alaska hit and run law states that any driver in a crash, whether causing injury or property damage, is legally required to stop until they have exchanged information with them. the other driver. Medical assistance should also be provided to any injured person.
If a driver collides with an unattended vehicle, they should also remain at the scene and attempt to notify the vehicle owner. The driver at fault is allowed to leave a written note with his personal and insurance information if he is unable to locate the owner of the vehicle.
In a hit-and-run crash, the driver who caused the crash is usually responsible for the property damage and medical bills of the other driver. Drivers who cause a hit and run crash in Alaska can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the extent of the damage.
The impact of hit and run on auto insurance rates in Alaska
Being involved in a hit and run accident in Alaska will likely impact your auto insurance rates if you file a claim with your insurance company. According to our research, the increase in the rate after a hit-and-run is higher than the increase in the rate after a standard crash.
However, drivers in Alaska see a lower average rate increase than drivers in the United States as a whole. In Alaska, hit-and-run claims increase premiums by an average of $ 945 per year, while the average American driver will see their rate increase by an average of $ 1,693 per year.
Average annual premiums for full coverage:
|Before a hit and run||After a hit and run||After an ordinary accident|
|alaskan average||$ 1,559||$ 2,504||$ 2,128|
|national average||$ 1,674||$ 3,367||$ 2,311|
3 things to do after a hit and run in Alaska
Being in a hit and run accident in Alaska can be a frightening experience. If you are struck by a driver who does not stop, it is important to act quickly. Here are the three things to do after a hit and run in Alaska:
- Call the police: The first thing to do after a hit-and-run is to call the police. If you or any of your passengers are injured, you should also call 911 for medical attention. When first responders arrive at the scene, the police officer will likely file a report and ask you questions about the incident, including whether you can remember any details about the offending driver’s vehicle.
- Document the damage: Before you leave the scene of the accident, you may want to take photos of the damage to your vehicle. This may help your insurance company determine how much compensation you may be entitled to. If you have received medical attention, be sure to keep a record of your treatment and expenses.
- Inform your insurance company: If your damage is significant enough to warrant a claim, call your insurance company and let them know you’ve been involved in a hit and run. An agent can help you start the claims process and explain what your policy will cover. The officer may ask to see the police report as well as any photos you took of the damage to the vehicle.
Will the insurance cover a hit and run?
There are certain types of auto insurance coverage that could help cover an Alaska hit and run accident. Collision insurance can pay for repairs to your vehicle, and medical coverage can pay your medical bills if you were injured. If you buy a minimum coverage policy, you probably won’t have hit-and-run coverage.
If you have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, which is optional in Alaska, you may also have coverage if you are involved in an accident where an at fault driver runs away from the scene. However, in some states, you must prove that the responsible driver did not have coverage to use these options.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company?
The best auto insurance company will vary depending on factors such as location, budget, and the type of coverage needed. While some companies stand out, it can still be helpful to get quotes from multiple carriers to compare rates, coverage offers, discounts, policy features, and third-party scores.
How much does auto insurance cost?
The cost of auto insurance is different for every driver. In the United States, the average cost of auto insurance is $ 1,674 per year for a full coverage policy. In Alaska, the average annual premium is $ 1,559 for full coverage. However, your rates may be higher or lower than the national or state average, depending on your individual valuation factors.
Do the police investigate hit and run?
Yes, law enforcement officers typically investigate hit-and-run using the information you provide, video footage from nearby businesses (if possible), and testimonials.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 of civil liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used a minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.