Reading of the first meeting of the White House task force on Puerto Rico



Today, Domestic Policy Advisor Susan E. Rice, National Economic Advisor Brian Deese and Director of Intergovernmental Affairs Julie Rodriguez chaired the inaugural meeting of the White House Task Force on Puerto Rico, which President Biden s ‘is committed to establishing to provide Puerto Rico with the resources and technical assistance it needs to recover and thrive.

Attendees at today’s White House task force meeting discussed the president’s plan for Puerto Rico based on dignity, fairness and respect, and his commitment to support a full recovery from island after hurricanes Maria and Irma, the 2020 earthquakes, as well as the COVID -19 pandemic. This means not only rebuilding, but investing in the island’s long-term resilience so that its communities and infrastructure can withstand future disasters.

Participants received briefings from the Departments of Treasury, Housing and Urban Development and Education, as well as the Federal Emergency Management Agency, on their efforts to advance a comprehensive and holistic approach that places the island on the way to future prosperity.

Today’s meeting participants included:

  • Xavier Becerra, secretary, Ministry of Health and Social Services
  • Pete Buttigieg, Secretary, Department of Transport
  • Miguel Cardona, Secretary, Ministry of Education
  • Jennifer Granholm, Secretary, Ministry of Energy
  • Deb Haaland, Secretary, Ministry of the Interior
  • Ali Mayorkas, Secretary, Department of Internal Security
  • Tom Vilsack, Secretary, Department of Agriculture
  • Mary Walsh, Secretary, Department of Labor
  • Isabel Guzman, Administrator, Small Business Administration
  • Michael Regan, Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
  • Shalanda Young, Acting Director, Office of Management and Budget
  • Wally Adeyemo, Assistant Secretary, Department of the Treasury
  • Don Graves, Assistant Secretary, Department of Commerce
  • Kath Hicks, Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Defense
  • Adrianne Todman, Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
  • Malcolm Coles, Interim CEO, Corporation for National and Community Service
  • Lieutenant-General Scott Spellmon, Chief, US Army Corps of Engineers
  • David Bibo, Acting Associate Administrator for Response and Recovery, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Gina McCarthy, Director, Office of National Climate Policy
  • Gene Sperling, coordinator of the American rescue plan
  • Jeff Zients, COVID Response Coordinator
  • Cristobal Alex, Under Secretary, Office of Cabinet Affairs




Comments are closed.