Changes to the Irish Competition and Consumer Agency


The Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CPCC) is Ireland’s main competition and consumer protection agency.

The composition of the CCPC management team has changed in part over the past few weeks. The CCPC has two new members.

On January 1, 2022, Jeremy Godfrey became a CCPC Member and the new CCPC Chair. This civil servant and telecommunications expert with extensive national and international experience is only the second president of the CCPC. Jeremy Godfrey was a member of the Communications Regulatory Commission of Ireland (ComReg), which is the communications regulatory authority in Ireland. Mr. Godfrey was the Chief Information Officer of the Government in Hong Kong, a partner of PA Consulting Group as well as a senior executive of Hong Kong Telecom and Cable & Wireless Group. Mr. Godfrey has also worked for the UK Department of Trade and Industry and as an independent consultant. He holds a master’s degree from the University of Cambridge, where he studied mathematics.

On 18 January 2022, Irish Tánaiste (Irish Deputy Prime Minister) / Minister for Business, Trade and Employment, Leo Varadkar, announced Úna Butler as a CCPC member. Úna Butler has served as CCPC’s Director of Legal Services and General Counsel since 2014 and therefore has unparalleled experience. Úna Butler is the first lawyer in several years to be a member of the CCPC or its predecessor (the Competition Authority). As the new president of the CCPC, Úna Butler has also worked at ComReg, as a legal adviser. The CCPC is to obtain a range of new legal powers in the context of the proposed new Irish legislation and the implementation in Irish law of the ECN+ directive, so the addition of a solicitor as a member is very timely.

The new appointments mean that Conor Blackwell, Chairman of CPCC’s Audit and Risk Committee, will step down as a temporary member of CPCC.

The new list of CCPC members is therefore:

  • Jeremy Godfrey (as President)
  • Unna Butler

as well as the two current members

  • Patrick Kenny (the extremely experienced and expert economist)
  • Brian McHugh (who successfully ran the SPCC’s large mergers division for a number of years).

Comments are closed.